Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Japan couture addicts
25 juillet 2011

Rose Garden Dress

page2

page3

IMG_0733

page

IMG_0726SKMBT_C25211072509100

 

I have made many dresses for my Little Terror and dollies before, but never contemplated to make a dress for myself as I reckoned that women dresses can be really cheap on sale and a woman’s figure can be more demanding to sew for compared to a little humans/dolls.  However I was tempted to try making my first Made-For-Me when I saw this empire-waist dress pattern in a Japanese magazine. 

 I shall present this dress using  ‘The Sew Weekly’s Contributor’ style :)
 
The Facts
 
Fabric : 2.5 yards Thailand cotton from Malaysian local fabric chain Kamdar: RM17/USD5.70
1 yard each of the contrast fabric,Thailand cotton as well, RM13.60/USD4.50
Some interfacing
Total Cost: ~RM30.60/USD10.20  
Pattern : Cotton Friend Summer 2011 Vol. 39

 

So far I have only worked with cottons so I naturally chose to work with cotton for this dress, but I think the dress, especially the sleeves and the skirt would drape better if I chose a more drape-y fabric.  Can anyone advise on types of drape-y fabric to use which is not too tough to sew?
Time to complete: Spent average 2 hours each over 4 workdays after 9pm (after Little Terror has gone to sleep)

First worn: On my car porch to model for all of you, 23 July 2011

Wear again?: Not sure if I will step out beyond my car porch in this as it's too gaudy, too hippie looking, too home-made?  My husband’s reaction when he first saw the dress was: “Is this a maternity dress?’ and ‘Are those sleeves meant to be that big?”.  When I gave him the eye he said, ‘Well at least it looks like the dress in the picture of the book’.   But I do admit I am not so mad about the billowy sleeves. But I do like how the fabrics matching turned out. If only I have the courage to wear this out of the house!

More pictures and info in this blog post

http://sertyan.blogspot.com/2011/07/my-first-made-for-me-rose-garden-dress.html

Publicité
Commentaires
P
Great fabric combination! I would team up this dress with a pair of skinny jeans and some platform heels, and possibly a crochet waistcoat (although the crochet might emphasize the hippie look...). Great first attempt anyway! Well done!
Répondre
M
very nice!!! i love that!
Répondre
L
beautiful! j'aime beaucoup vos créations pour bébé! cette robe pour vous est magnifique :)
Répondre
R
you chosE... Sorry ;-)
Répondre
R
I would definitely dare to wear it outside if I were you!!! The fabrics you chos look perfect for the pattern!!!!<br /> Congrats, really!!!!
Répondre
Publicité